h.b.irwin

Mutedness Pt. 2

In Uncategorized on November 4, 2010 at 10:46 am

Walrus, walking on his knit-needle teeth

Knows naked navels like I know my mother’s knees. They are all

Quiet things making stillnesses, catching your eye on stubbled stillnesses like

A field night wind that makes its own quiet things that make their own stillnesses

Their own subtle stillnesses, that is where I am.

I am in the walrus, walking on his knit-needle teeth, watching

My mother’s naked navels dancing in the margins

Knitting knees for me, for

Me inside the walrus

The walrus, knitting stillnesses that make quiet things,

Things that know navels like they know me inside

My mother’s knit-needle knees

That quake to make quiet things keep quiet

Keep quilting, keep spinning for

Stillnesses.

 

Leave a Reply

